Skull Anatomy

The skull is made up of 8 bones. Its functions are to:

  • Protect the brain
  • Stabilize the position of the brain, blood vessels and nerves
  • Provide attachment sites for the muscles that move the head
  • Protect and support entrances to respiratory and digestive systems
  • Protect and support sense organ: vision, taste, smell, hearing and balance